The GP-TCM Research Association Election Special Edition - 1



7 November 2016

GP-TCM RA Calls for President-Elect and Members of Board of Directors (BoD)

- With the approval of the current GP-TCM RA Board of Directors (BoD), the Secretariat is organising the 3rd GP-TCM RA election for **nine** BoD members, including President-Elect.
- Based on the Bylaws, Prof. Elizabeth Williamson of Reading University (UK) and Prof. Ian Sutherland of Brunel University (UK) have been approved by the BoD to serve as co-Chairpersons of the election. Both are members who do not run election themselves.
- Only GP-TCM RA members can vote and/or be elected.
- The BoD being elected will succeed the current BoD from 1 January 2017 to decide principles and future directions of the GP-TCM RA.
- The new President-Elect will take office on 1 January 2017, when current President-Elect Dr. Tai-Ping Fan becomes President and the current President Prof. De-an Guo becomes Past President. The newly elected President-Elect will be member of the BoD and the Executive Council, and will become President of GP-TCM RA on 1 January 2019.
- The BoD nominates candidates for the elections. All members of the Association are entitled to nominate additional candidates. Nominations must be supported at least by two members, and must be submitted in writing to the Secretary-General Professor Nicola Robinson on nicky.robinson@lsbu.ac.uk, by Monday 14 November 2016 at 5 pm UK Time.
- What is required from candidates of BoD members, including President-Elect?
 - A recent photograph;
 - Which position applied for;
 - o 200-word self-introduction in English;
 - 200-word personal statement: Why do you apply for the position? What will you do if elected?
- Details of all candidates and online voting procedure will be collated into <u>GP-TCM RA Election Special Edition 2</u>, and emailed to every member of the Association on **Monday 28 November 2016**, as well as being uploaded on to the Association website.
- Online election will start on Monday 12 December 2016 at 9 am UK Time and end on Tuesday 20 December 2016 at 5pm UK Time.
- Election results will be announced in <u>GP-TCM RA Election Special Edition 3</u> and emailed to every member of the Association on **Friday 23 December 2016**, as well as being uploaded on to the Association website.